Feature Teacher: Ray Hachey

Why did you become a teacher?

I was inspired by some of the great teachers I had growing up. Their enthusiasm for learning as well as their empathy towards all students motivated me to try to be someone who made the classroom an engaging and positive place.
My grandparents were teachers, and my mother was a teacher too. I got to see the way their jobs made them a part of the community and that was inspiring as well.

What is your most memorable teaching experience?

I spent six years teaching in Japan, so I had some amazing experiences there. One teacher was very interested in technology and we arranged a large-scale, international teleconference between his class and a class in Australia. This was in the days before Skype, so we were both nervous about possible glitches, but it went off without a hitch!

What are some of your interests and hobbies outside of the classroom?

I am an avid runner. I have run the Boston Marathon twice and hope to be back there in two years. I also love music; I can play the guitar and I love to make up funny songs. My third interest is art – I like to paint and draw, and I am exploring the art of “kirigami” (Japanese paper cutting).

2 thoughts on “Feature Teacher: Ray Hachey

  1. I had great time with at Munakata City Board of Education, Fukuoka, Japan.
    Everyone at school loved him very much and he was really popular amang our commumity.

Leave a Reply

